LonsdaleMBM

Sep 30, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

I'm a newbie to this and am looking to get my first separates system.

All of my music is digital and is on my PC or on my smartphone. I also like to stream music a lot. My main types of music are techno drum n bass and rock.

My overall budget is £1,000 to £1,100.

From what I've seen, the Tannoy Revolution DC6T floorstanding speakers have had really good reviews, and are available for around £400.

Is anyone able to point me in the direction of a suitable amp? Other than the amp and cables, I think that would be me all set, since I don't need a CD player (no CDs anymore!). Is that correct?

Sorry for the novice questions - I've done some reading but i gues nothing spells it out enough for me!

Thanks

David

matt49

Apr 7, 2013
Visit site
Hello David and welcome to the forum.

If you're streaming music from a PC/laptop, you'd also benefit from a USB DAC. This could be included in the amp. And there are some nice DAC-amps around now with great functionality, e.g. including Spotify and internet radio. Marantz and Yamaha are good places to start.

Matt

CarlDW

Dec 29, 2011
Visit site
One suggestion springs to mind:

The Rotel RA-12 amplifier with some B&W 685s2 speakers. On budget, a good match sonically, the RA-12 has a USB input to connect straight to your computer and a Bluetooth adapter is included so that you can stream music from your smartphone.

You could substitute the B&W's for the Tannoys but make sure you listen to them first.

rainsoothe

hey

for what it's worth, I auditioned the DC6T SE and they were ok, but not as wonderful as the hype was suggesting them to be. My point is not to take anything from the Tannoys, but to emphasize how important auditioning actually is - your ears WILL make the best judge.

With that in mind, my sugested combos for your budget (well a bit above, but dealers make good offers sometimes, or you can find ex-dem units at good discounts) would be these: