Advice wanted on home cinema/projector and record deck

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Can you help an absolute novice with advice about buying a new system We are redecorating the lounge and taking the opportunity to scrap all our redundant Technics hi-fi equipment, cassette, tuner, amp & deck ( all 80's) and a (slightly) newer CD player.

We have a nice 26'' Humax (good hard drive nice picture but no HDMI sockets) and a Samsung HD870 DVD player ( as recommended in your magazine).

My live-at-home son has a Play station 3 which is occasionally attached to the Humax.

Our lounge is about 14ft by 24 ft and i would ideally like to add to the existing items a surround sound system, and a new record deck that would enable me to play my old vinyl thru the sound system and at the same time download the music either to a hard drive or our Creative MP3 players.

I would then ideally like to add a projector which would need to sit at the side of the room (run off the DVD?) to focus on a roll-up screen fitted into the window in front of the blind.

Sapphire do a perfect fit screen 1710 x 962 with dimensions of 1872 x 78 x 78. (rolled up)

i would ideally like to upgrade to Sky HD then watch sport, films and use the playstation occasionally on the screen, using the TV the rest of the time.

i can afford to spend three or four thousand to get the whole lot ( is that enough ?) Is all this technically possible. Can you give me any advice ??

Thanks in advance for any help you can gie me.

John Duncan

All absolutely possible, and your budget will buy you some rather good kit. Firstly, do we need to include the cost of the screen and the sky HD box in your budget? Secondly, are you absolutely set on a projector? (I think they're stupid....
emotion-2.gif
)

A

Anonymous

No the pull down screen is under 100 and the sky box not much more