A complete novice and an even tighter budget

DMorris

Dec 27, 2010
Visit site
Hi, my first post on the forum and I imagine you know what that means. I am new to the whole Hi Fi world and I am looking to make the venture into have a lovely hi fi system to play my music through. Now I have been looking at several options, but my budget might be restricting me; I am on a very tight budget. At the moment I don't really want to spend more than £160, now I know this might seem a little silly given that I want the best but don't want to pay for it.

At the moment I am only looking to play my Ipod through the system, so am not sure whether to go for a docking system, a mini hifi or an amp with dock and some nice speakers. I've been looking at the Fatman Itube valve systems but have been put off a little by a friend. Also the fact I am thinking about getting into vinyl has put me off them and the mini systems.

An option I am looking at is from Richer Sounds and is http://www.richersounds.com/hifi/hifi-offers/offer1 which is a Cambridge Audio Topaz AM1, Cambridge Audio ID10 dock and Eltax Concept 180 floor standing speakers all for £149.95 Is the deal any good? or is it too good to be true?

Also I will probably attempt to who my television up to it for better sound for movies and my Xbox 360.

Any advice anyone can give me would be helpful, as I have no idea when it comes to this side of things.

DMorris

Dec 27, 2010
Visit site
Oh I know. I am in need of having something but I am tight. I could be tempted to increase it but I don't want anything amazing as its my first system and I won't be using it to its full potential yet.

bretty

Jul 20, 2007
Visit site
You can't really say fairer than that deal at Richer. I'd go for it mate. It gets you on the first rung of the hi-fi ladder.

DMorris

Dec 27, 2010
Visit site