A bit of time with the Airpods Max (a bit long..sorry)

Sliced Bread

Sorry for the delay writing this, but as promised here are my experiences with the Airpods Max sound quality. I’m going to try and be as balanced as possible and If you’re interested in the headphones it’s worth reading the whole thing as there is a bit of an unusual twist.

Firstly, please temper your initial expectations when trying the Max’s. There are a lot of reviews out there throwing hyperbole at these headphones, giving the impression they are sonically faultless, but that is not the case. Nor are they bad, they are just not as perfect as some make out.

Due to the hype, I was initially a little disappointed; I found the bass a touch too heavy, making them sound a bit muddy; the treble slightly grainy which gave a digital sound; and the mid-range was a little more recessed than I was used to. Some of this could be attributed to the fact that I’ve been using Shure IEM’s for about 5 years (SE425’s) which are generally flat but have the impression of a mid-forward balance as the treble and bass both roll off a little early. I guess this is a sound signature I quite like.
The sound staging I would also say is not as wide as some reviews would lead you to believe, but the sound does image reasonably well for headphones, but it is not exactly vast.