7 crucial mistakes to avoid when setting up your hi-fi system

tones

May 11, 2023
Visit site
Agreed with previous commentator - IMHO the cables bit is complete nonsense. Just avoid actual bell wire, but any decent wire will do, so forget all these exotic materials/oxygen-free copper things. Normal electrical copper is 99.9% pure Cu, so, if you want to use normal lighting flex and save the money for better equipment, go for it. Treat yourself to 25m of this:

and save a bundle.

I once asked John Borwick (audio editor of Gramophone back in the day) about wire. He replied, memorably, that, in his experience "one good wire is as good as any other, but I would never discourage a person who wants to give his super system a birthday present, if paying over the odds makes him feel better."

Ditto exotic stands - any decent solid support will do. I've been mucking around with hi-fi for over 50 years, have tried all of these things and have come back to a simple system .

Last edited:

giggsy1977

Jul 27, 2007
Visit site
When designing components, what cables do manufacturers use? They will design a component to sound a particular way I assume (it's own signature if you like). So whatever cable they use for testing for example would need to be completely neutral. All this about timing being improved in cable reviews (how that happens I don't know!), should a difference be heard, what is the baseline it is tested against to determine whether the cable is doing a good job of replicating the signal and sound in it's truest form?

tones

May 11, 2023
Visit site
Speaking of manufacturers, John Dunlavy, CEO of Duntech speakers, used to do a demonstration of cables to customers for his speakers. He'd have his technicians hold up the cables prior to connections, and the customers would hear night-and-day differences when the exotic hi-fi cables were held up. There was only one catch - no cables were changed...