£700 Budget for AV Receiver and 5.1 Speaker Set-up

jdamsell

Apr 25, 2014
Visit site
Afternoon All, a newby here in search of some guidance :)

So, I have recently purchased a new 3D TV - a Samsung UE46F8000, to be precise. I am using it in conjunction with my 5 year old Onkyo AVX-380 "out of the box" receiver and speaker system. Although I can't be sure as I have nothing to measure it against, I suspect that I'm not going to get the best out of the TV with this Onkyo package. As such, I have a maximum budget of £700 for something better, and would appreciate some pointers, as I am a novice with no idea apart from how good the visuals are, and how great the sound is!

My primary usage will be Blu Ray (particularly action and sci fi films in 3D), music (either streamed via Apple TV or with an iPod directly connected to the receiver), and PS3 gaming (my son moreso than me, surprise surprise!). It's to be located in a lounge with a heigh ceiling, in case that makes any difference!

Having popped into Richer Sounds yesterday, I was pointed in the direction of the Sony STRDN-1040 AC receiver, and Wharfedale DX1-HCP speaker set, for a conbined price of around £680, and have arranged a demo next week. I was also thrown a Yamaha to consider (don't recall the model), but was advised that if music sound quality is important to me (yes it is), then the Sony is the better bet. Having read reviews of the Sony, it seems there are concerns about streaming drop out, and connectivity with Apple devices in general - is that correct?

Sorry to be a bit of a doofus with this - I'm hoping for at least a pointer that the Richer recommendation is the way to go, and if not, why not. What would you choose to spend your hard earned £700 on?

PS - I should add that I use the PS3 for blu ray playback also.

DiNZi

Feb 4, 2014
Visit site
If I had £700, I'd probably pick from one of the below.

http://www.richersounds.com/package/system-savers/home-cinema-separates-bundle-deals/pah011577