Yamaha DSP Z7 or RXV3900 Is it worth the EXTRA money

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am new to the cinema av world and I have a couple of problems if somebody could help point me in the right direction. 1. I am looking to purchase the RX Z7 or the RXV 3900 but cant put my finger on what i am getting for the extra money. 2 I would like to find out if it is possible to stream HD movie content through the receiver to my tv and how this could be done. 3. I am thinking of running the B & W 685 home theatre kit through it would this be suitable.

A

Anonymous

I have the DSP Z7 and had the RXV 3900, the Z7 sounds better and i'd say it is worth the extra money. Go to the US portion of the yamaha website and do a comparison on the specs.

For HD content connect bluray to amp via HDMI and amp and TV via HDMI.

I'm sure the 685 speaker package will be fine with the Z7 and 3900.

A

Anonymous

Instead of getting the 685 package, maybe you can consider getting the cheaper RXV-3900 but spend more on the speaker package? WHF tens to recommend the 685 package with either the RXV-1900 or even the 863 so my guess would be that the 3900 is more than sufficient.

If you're getting the Z7, then maybe you should be getting higher end speakers?

TheHomeCinemaCentre

Oct 1, 2008
Visit site
The Z7 is noticeably better than the 3900 but I too would suggest a higher performing speaker package to get the most from it. The Z7 will not embarrass itself on speakers costing many times more than the B&W.

Nick

A

Anonymous

I agree with seakingadvice, the v3900 with a slighter better speaker package say even the B&W 684's would be an excellent choice. While the Z7 is no doubt an excellent amp i feel you would need to team it with much more expensive speakers to really hear the extra quality.

A

Anonymous

If i was to look at upgrading the speaker package would the monitor audio rs1av do the job. The wife would not be impressed with floor standing speakers so they are a no no.

A