Wood As An Isolation Platform?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Ok, I've got a problem. I've just bought a rega p3-24 with power supply and speed changer for the amazing price of £300 - clearly this is not said problem.

The hi fi unit we have to house the gear is too narrow on the top for the tt to sit so I'm going to stick a platform of some kind on it. My first thought was granite but finding the right widt is proving tough; it needs to be 47-48cm wide to sit comfortably. So then I thought about wood due to being able to cut it to size.

What kinds of wood would be best for this? A really heavy, solid lump or a lighter type? I'm totally new to high end turntables and their respose to positioning and all that so any advice would be welcomed.

A

Anonymous

The Rega wall shelf or any shelf would be best. Regas are not suspended decks so highly sensitive to position as they can be affected by the least vibration.

A

Anonymous

The wall shelf isn't an option for us cause the landlord's not keen on drilling into the wall - it's plaster and he said it just crumbles and ends up leaving a big ol hole!

So, what kinda wood we talking? Rosewood, ebony, mdf??

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
If it's going to be wood then use something light and rigid (the Rega ethos in their own supports) that will 'lose' energy/vibration quickly.

Logically speaking, a piece of MDF completely laminated in phenolic resin laminate (just like the deck itself) should be a good choice.

Maybe a visit to the local kitchen outfitters will turn up something of suitable dimensions that is rigid, perfectly flat and pleasingly finished.

Ensure there some way to make the platform perfectly level. (Adjustable spikes on your equipment support's legs will take care of this).

Solid timber can warp so if you are making this yourself look for something like ply (not too thin obviously) or 1/2" MDF (veneered both sides).