Which speakers for Sugden A21SE?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Need a bit of advice. About to acquire a Sugden A21SE and Sony SACD (don't know which one but has upgraded chipset and power supply) and need some ideas as to suitable speakers. Listen to a little bit of everything and will eventually get round to purchasing a new TT to replace my Linn Sondek. Like bass, not too much bass, but not anaemic and not flappy, also don't want a brash top end but with a good sound stage. Floor standers or standmounts, I don't care but no separate subs please. As for budget, 800 to 1000 at a stretch and the clincher is I'm in New Zealand so it's a little difficult to get hold of some brands so all ideas gratefully accepted. I've been listening to an ipod through computer speakers for about 3 years now and it's starting to get too me!

Razz

Jun 25, 2007
Visit site
Don't know if this will be helpful, but I remember Sugden once recommended ProAc as partnering speakers for their Bijou series... Their choice then was the renowned miniature Response 1SC, but that is quite small and it exceeds your budget (GBP 1250). I reckon in your case it would have to be either the Studio 110 standmount (GBP 750) or the Studio 130 Standmount (GBP 1050) - that is if ProAc seems like an appealing solution to you...

Other obvious solutions would be the universally praised Ruark Sabre III standmount (whose slightly forward sound could be a good match for Sugden's refined presentation - at 900 pounds), B&W's standmount 705 (GBP 900) or ATC's SCM11 standmount (at around 850). These have good bass control and no brash top end. Also praised for their bass control were the big KEF floorstanders iQ9 (GBP 800). Maybe you can get an audition with any of the above...

Good luck with your search, and let us know what optimum solution you've found! :)

Razz

A

Anonymous