Which of these setups would you go for if you had a budget of approx £800?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I want to play music through my computer. Any thoughts on the best options for me? My budget is approx £800 all-in, and I'm only considering purchasing new products. Also, speakers need to be smallish, given space constraints. I'm really a beginner on this, but have been reading and learning a lot from these forums recently!

So, music will be played through my (cheap) laptop, with music mostly mp3' compressed at 256kbps (vbr) but some fav albums in lossless. My music is predominantly rock, folk & alternative. In terms of sound, most important to me is clarity, esp. vocals & being able to distinguish different instruments. powerful bass is not crucial.

I know from the forums that I should buy a DAC (Beresford 7520 or CA Dacmagic I suppose) & stands & other appropriate accessories, but I'm undecided still on amp + speakers...

I've heard a few options, some of which were based on a previous forum request. The best of what I've heard are given below BUT each has to me some perceived downsides... any thoughts on alternative setups that can overcome these downsides?

[1] Dali Lektor 1 with a £300 micro system. Thought the sound was great EXCEPT for the big negative that vocals seemed 'recessed' [not sure if
this and other terms are accurate!]... would a better amp help?

[2] Kef iQ10 + Marantz PM6002. Liked the sound overall (more than
[1]), though sometimes it sounded to me a bit too 'bright'.

[3] Dynaudio MC-15. I really liked everything about the sound of these (more than [1] and [2]), but they're a bit over budget once accounting for extras.. would any passive speaker + amp combo give similar sound for less money (such as, say, Monitor Audio Silver RS1 + Marantz PM6002)? Plus am concerned about practicality issues, such as volume control + plugging in >1 input (like DVD player).