Which Mission Speakers, for classic Technics?

timbo999

Oct 2, 2011
Visit site
Hey all.

I'm a novice really when it comes to hifi, but I really enjoy my music.

History so far is my small Yamaha hifi with KEF iQ1's.

So, I'm moving house and the new garage has potential for a great workshop and great to listen to some music. It's like a 2 car garage but wider and longer. So, I thought id get a new hifi for it. Cheap was the word so I looked to ebay and got a Technics amp, cd player and tuner for £17.50, bargain! The amp is 2 x 50 watt and 8-16 ohm. (kind of wish I'd got something more powerful?) (oh, and my KEF's sound loads better with the Technics!)

So, the original plan was to pray on eBay for another bargain and hope for the best. Cheap is the optimum for me, as theyre going into a garage, after all But, I got looking at speakers and wondering, and I do really want a great sound, the best for the room with what I have. Ive kind of focused on Mission as I've been recommended them by a good many people for a broad and bass rich sound. And, due to the power, I think I'm looking at large book shelf or small floor standing speakers.

First up I found the MV4 for £110, then the MV6 for £170.
Then to the new MX series, the MV2 for £200.
Or, look for any big book/small floor Mission speakers on eBay for £20-£50 within 30 miles of home?

Would I be happy with the MV4?

I should really do the eBay thing, but it's an unknown for 2 reason, are they broken and what are they like? I don't know any Mission history, just reviews on the web.

Any thoughts?

Oh, and I've just found Monitor BX1 and RX1's for £200 or £250? Just might not be loud or bass rich enough for me

Cheers, Tim.

Messiah

Mission have a great history with their 73x, 75x and 78x ranges (x being another number).

Here are some from ebay:

734i