Which headphones?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I've been looking around for some new headphones for a few weeks now and I cant decide on what to get

Budget: Around £100, £150 MAX

They'll mainly be used for at home and then when I take them to uni to use there with their computers (I'm doing a degree in music technology)

I have never owned a pair of expensive headphones so I have nothing to compare any of these to, I'm just going on reviews and what I hear here on the internet

So I'm looking for something that's going to be easy portable and durable, mainly.

I also cannot decide whether to go for open or closed. Closed seems to be the better option for what I am needing as I will be using them at university around other people.

So far I've been looking at:

Closed:

Sennheiser HD 380 pro - £100

Audio-Technica ATH M50 - £110

Shure SRH840 - £130

Open:

Sennheiser HD595 - £120

Grado SR80I - £108

From what I have seen all of these are great headphones. At the moment I'm mainly tied between the ATH M50s and the HD 380 pros (mainly due to them being closed and the portability)

Any help will be much appreciated

Thanks

KT66

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site
what will you be driving them with ?

from that list the Grado is the best for music, they are open, but music doesn't sound right with closed back 'phones.

I'd get the Grados for serious listening and some cheaper Senn HDs closed for journeys etc

sensei_russ

Jun 11, 2008
Visit site
I got a good deal on a pair of Sennheiser HD380 Pros on Amazon a few months ago. I wanted an 'over ear' closed headphone as opposed to the 'on ear' Sennheiser HD25's I already have. The HD380's were very disappointing in comparison.