Which Amp to upgrade to from Rotel RA-04?

DNICE1

Oct 30, 2007
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I have been using Rotel RA-04 with my B&W 685s for the last 3 years and wondering if I were to upgrade the Amp what will be the most obvious upgrade path from Rotel considering that it MUST have tone controls as I sometimes listen to very old home made cassette recordings which almost always require a degree of tonal adjustment?

I am looking for something more powerful and revealing than the Rotel and since I like a bit of treble (tamed not harsh) in my music, I have been considering the CA Azur 840A and the 650A. Also having read on numerous forums that the CA amps are a little bright and better matched to warm speakers. RS is clearing out 840A v1 for £399 and selling 650A for £350.

So my first question is, which of these CA amps, if any, be a good match for my speakers?

Secondly, if CA 840A is any good for the B&Ws, how does it compare to other amps at this price level?

Any other Amp suggestions?

My budget is around £400 and would prefer new but will be willing to consider used if there is something really good available.

Last week I had a chance to listen to the new Marantz PM6003 with B&W 685 at Sevenoaks and thought that until I switched the loudness button on the sound was very thin and lifeless at lower volumes. With the loudness on there was more punch but the midrange became a bit muffled and not so clear.

Having never heard anything other than the Rotel or Marantz I have no clue as to which way to go. My local RS does not have the facility to do a listening test.

Any help is appreciated.

Regards,

Nadeem

Craig M.

Mar 20, 2008
Visit site
if you buy a 650 over a 840 at basically the same money, i'm going to come to your house and beat you up!
emotion-4.gif
emotion-2.gif

seriously though, i doubt there is any comparison - the 840 should walk it.