Where to start?

Bigun

Jan 27, 2015
Visit site
Hi I'm new here and am looking for some advice on where to start upgrading my current system.

Back ground first

Having been a huge home cinema fan during the late 90's early 2000's, I still own a Yamaha DSP-A2 and full set of B&W DM600 series speakers, the amp and DM603's have been used for listening to music for over 10 years via an old Denon 635 CD player (no longer working) and more recently via a headphone jack to RCA from my iPad/iPhone.

Well at xmas my Mrs brought me a Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable, something I had been toying with buying for a year or so as I still own a fair bit of vinyl from when I was a student, wanted something to play it on and love the process of listening to vinyl, digital music is such a impersonal thing.

Anyway after running the turntable through the A2 and DM603's for the past month and loving the new detail I'm hearing in my music, I am now wanting more. I love the warmth of the sound I'm getting but the bass could be deeper. The detail is there, now i'm hearing things that I hadnt heard before but I want more, far more. The soundstage (is that the right term) is alright but I feel it could have more depth, more feeling, be richer. I dont fully understand or appreciate all the correct terminology so please forgive me.

Basically I'm looking to upgrade but where do I start? My head says Amp first, obviously the Yammy amp isnt best suited for stereo listening and maybe upgrading the amp will answer a few of my issues, but then once I do that am I going to have to upgrade my speakers aswell? They are nearly 20 years old and have been through several moves and slightly fewer wives/girlfriends.