What to do

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello im new to all this hi fi malarky

so please be patient with me i dont know much you see, Im recentely divorced with alot of time on my hands after that time so, i want a new hi fi system i have around 1400 pounds of my hard earned cash and was wondering whether someone can givve me some ideas of what i want.

Lots of regards.

John.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
Sort of depends what you want the system to do: CD playback? Music streaming over a home network? Surround sound?

Any clues you can offer will help...

A

Anonymous

Also where is the music stored at the moment, how do you listen at the moment, and do you have any hifi kit at the moment including cables, furniture etc?

What size of room are you planning to listen to this music in presuming that you are not planning to listen through headphones.

A

Anonymous

I want just a stereo hi-fi with some large floorstanding speakers i heard celestion and leak sandwich were particularly good and pushin out a bit of sound, and i have a lot of 78's so i want my system to play them as i have had them for years in my attic gathering dust. they have a luvly sound.

Lots of regards john

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
The Leak speakers haven't been made for a very long time: you may be able to find a used pair, but they're a bit sought-after, so tend to command collector's prices. Celestion speakers are still around, and have the F Series, but it's been a while since we tested any of the company's speakers.

If you want to play 78s alongside ordinary records, you're going to need either an older turntable able to play 33.3/45/78rpm, and be prepared to switch phono cartridges when you want to play 78s, or a dedicated 78rpm turntable. Several turntable make these, but as they're understandably of only very limited interest, prices tend to be a bit high.