What reference disk???

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Ok here is a question, what albums/tracks do people use when testing kit and why? eg good track for testing bass, mid, top, soundstage, etc. As a bonus any suggested albums that are well mixed and produced for a great listen....

PJPro

Jan 21, 2008
Visit site
I'm no expert......but for what it's worth I tend to use the following
Music (Madonna/Music)
Smack my *** up (Prodigy/Fat of the Land)
Foot of the Mountain (Paul Weller/Wild Wood) - in fact anything off Wild Wood
Opening sequence to Toy Story 2 for surround sound
I guess my choices are based on tracks I am completely familiar with and exercise a range of component capabilities.

gpi

Mar 29, 2008
Visit site
The new Elbow album 'The Seldom Seen Kid' is very well produced and has very good songs too (IMO). It was mixed intentionally quieter so can be turned up more without distorting. See http://www.turnmeup.org/
My personal choice for demo discs changes all the time so I can't really say. Ideally something with really quiet bits and really loud bits.T

A

Anonymous

I personally find Soundgardens Back Hole Sun a hard track to get sounding right, its a track i always look too when ive changed parts.

PJPro

Jan 21, 2008
Visit site
[quote user="gpi"]The new Elbow album 'The Seldom Seen Kid' is very well produced and has very good songs too (IMO). It was mixed intentionally quieter so can be turned up more without distorting. See http://www.turnmeup.org/

My personal choice for demo discs changes all the time so I can't really say. Ideally something with really quiet bits and really loud bits.T
[/quote]
Hey, thanks gpi. The demo at the end of that link is really good!!
Guess I should be staying away from stuff which has recently been digitally remastered.
Damn, I've just bought Electric Lady Land (new digital remaster).

A

Anonymous

Jeff Buckley - Grace

Mojo Pin - Atmosphere, soundstage and dynamics

CCC/Hallelujah - vocals

Last Goodbye - timing,