What is Hi-Fi ?

JamesMellor

Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
Acurate repouction of recorded music I know , but do we still get up to dance and still sit back and chill out , people here say 500 quid all in ones plus speakers is it , and people talk about 1500 quid gets you budget and low fi shite , or is home hifi making it sound as best you can for the buck , I cant belive I need to spend 15k to dance , and dance badly

James

Snooker

Aug 5, 2011
Visit site
I am no expert, but when I have visited HI-FI exibitions would say that anything over say £1500 including speakers is not really going to sound any better, and would say regarding hi-fi sound that it should sound full bodied with clarity throughout the range from high to low and sound clear, thanks

matthewpiano

Depends how literally you want to take the term. 'High Fidelity' suggests the greatest possible level of accuracy to the original source material, so yes, if you want to be literal about it, probably the best way to choose hi-fi equipment would be via scientific measurements and spec.

However, that accuracy also means accuracy to some pretty dreadful recordings of great music with the potential to possibly dampen enjoyment of that music. So where do you draw the line?

I think if most of us are honest we would have to admit that hi-fi is really a bit of a disease for obsessives and a lot of time is spent (wasted?) worrying and obsessing about how the sound could be made that bit better. I think where the systems like those from Marantz, Denon et al really come in is as a bit of a cure to that obsessing. The all-in-one nature of them, and the associated lack of interconnects and component matching, removes much of the temptation to fiddle and the sound is good enough in a way that you can relax and enjoy music from a wide variety of sources without having a distracting pile of black (or silver) boxes in front of you.

In the grand scheme of things, does 'hi-fi' really matter that much?

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009