what are some good tracks...

A

Anonymous

skularatna:
in the following categories to test out my valve amplifier.

Classical

Rock

Jazz

Classical: A good recording of Widor's Organ Tocatta

Rock: Pink Floyd, Yes, Metallica (the black album)

Jazz: Dave Brubeck - Take Five

A

Anonymous

My favourite testing track (not that I'm an expert) is IGY - Donald Fagen (from The Nightfly) - in fact that whole album does it for me.

A

Anonymous

Oh - and The Mercy Seat from Johnny Cash's American III Album just came on my stereo - that should give a trial system a bit of a workout.

john dolan

Dec 20, 2008
Visit site
The 3 id pick are jacqueline du pre elgar cello concerto then pink floyd dsotm then miles davis kind of blue.3 of the greatest albums of all time imo and a good test of your valve amp.

T

the record spot

Utterly mind bogglingly brilliant CD for testing bass response is Peter Gabriel's 4th solo album, titled "Peter Gabriel". This is the one with the alien picture on the front, as opposed to the first three Peter Gabriel albums (all titled "Peter Gabriel"), which are nicknamed "Car", "Scratch" and "Melt". The fourth was nicknamed "Security", it being the title in the US.

This was the album which precluded the first WOMAD festival and features a fusion of rock music and African instruments. Couldn't recommend another CD highly enough to be honest; there's remastered versions of the LPs out, but if you can find an original Virgin/Charisma release, then that'd be my pick. Great album too.

Classical - highly depends on the recording and type of music you like, so I'll bow out here. You won't go far wrong checking out some of the Gramophone recommendations though. Personally, I've always liked Bruckner's 7th and some of John Adams work.

Jazz - "Coltrane" John Coltrane (Impulse) and "Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus" Charles Mingus (Impulse).

A

Anonymous

Terryff:RE Peter Gabriel...is that the So album?