what amp for JBL ES100? blowing tweeters!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

Im a complete novice to all this, but my dilemma is that im not sure what amp should go with my JBL ES100's?

Ive just blown a tweeter in one of them, which ill hopefully be able to repair by buying spares. I also saw somewhere that an underpowered amp could blow the tweeters? The amp i currently have is a cheap and cheerful eltax AVR-800 6.1 channel (6 x 92w)

it is currently bridged and biwired to the speakers, but im thinking the speakers are under powered......?

JBL ES100 specs

Frequency response (–3dB): 32Hz – 40kHz

Max. recommended amplifier power*: 250W

Power handling (continuous/peak): 125W/500W

Sensitivity (2.83V/1m): 91dB

Nominal impedance: 8 Ohms

Crossover frequencies: 450Hz, 3000Hz – 24dB/octave; 12000Hz – 18dB/octave

Low-frequency transducer: Dual 250mm (10") PolyPlas, shielded

Midrange transducer: 100mm (4") PolyPlas, shielded

High-frequency transducer: 19mm (3/4") Titanium-laminate dome, shielded; EOS waveguide

Ultrahigh-frequency transducer: 19mm (3/4") Polyester-film, ring-radiator, shielded; EOS waveguide

Dimensions with grille (H x W x D): 1149mm x 305mm x 422mm (45-1/4" x 12" x 16-5/8")

Weight per speaker: 29kg (63.9 lb)

*i also need the amplifier to have hdmi input/output for ps3, sky hd etc*

any advice would be greatly appreciated, my budget is approx £300.

Regards,

Matt

rishisaran

Aug 12, 2013
Visit site
Try Onkyo, Pioneer, Denon or Matzang. Do compare the power output and frequency handling per channel of your prospective amp with that of your JBLs. Under power amp should have blown up your amp and not your tweeter unless there is something more to this. Hope this helps.