WD My Book Live

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi All,

I run iTunes on a Mac Book Pro. I have a few other devices (iPad & iPhone) which I like to use to control the media on the MacBook and stream it to Apple TV to play music through my AV system. It all works really well.... when the Mac is on...

When the Mac is off I still want to be able to stream music to the Apple TV to the AV using my iPad or iPhone. I have been told that a WD My Book Live can be used to store my media files so that they are always accessable. I am also told it has a built in itunes server.

I am not very technical, so do not understand the ins and outs of this yet. Can anyone out there, with real experience, explain how this works in reality? I thought the 'library' files have to stay on the Mac hard drive even if the media is on an external drive. If this is true, how would I access the media on the WD drive via my iPad if all the playlists etc are off line (on my Mac which is 'off')?

Can you move the library files too? or would this 'mess up' the Mac access?

Of course you can move all library files as well into the NAS. That's what a NAS is meant to do.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network-attached_storage

Which version of Apple TV have you got? Apple TV 1 & 2 can be jail broken easily so it can directly read off a NAS.

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Unfortunately, with an out of the box Apple TV, you can't stream music to it without iTunes on - this means your Mac has to be on for this to work (as you've discovered). The iTunes Server function doesn't replace this - all it does is share any music stored on the WD My Book to an iTunes instance (so it appears within iTunes under the Shared section). You can store your iTunes Library on the WD My Book Live, but you would still need the Mac on to access this via the Apple TV.