TheHomeCinemaCentre

Oct 1, 2008
Visit site
I have heard the 861 and the 861se both are stunning examples of what a CD player can do. I have no experience of the Opus, at this level a proper demonstration is essential.

Thaiman

Jul 28, 2007
Visit site
I have heard Opus 21 on 2 occasions and both time left me feeling wanted more! With your Chapters and Sonus Faber I would prefer Wadia as a source (again it's my personal taste).

Marantz SA-7S1 GamuT CD3 also should be on your demo list. Good luck mate

Edit: Took Ayre off the as amp/speakers deserve even better source.

A

Anonymous

Hey Thaiman, thanks for your suggestions.

Interesting, what would you say were the Opus's weaknesses? (I may be a bit too used to it, and haven't compared it to anything else for over a year)

I am looking for a bigger sound and deeper bass, and perhaps a more refined treble, but not sure I'd want to sacrifice any musicality for something more "digital" sounding...

What is your cd player now?

Thaiman

Jul 28, 2007
Visit site
The Opus sounded light....too light! very hifi which is not what I like very much....sorry Pete.

May be I was expecting too much from resolution Audio player, afterall no one ever write one bad word about the 21.

I did A/B it with a similar price Sugden Masterclass and while the Opus tick most of Hifi boxes, it left me cold. Sugden however kept me focus on bass note, kick drum and really is more organic sounding machine if doesn't seem to extract as much details as the 2 boxes machine. As for what is the best upgrade, I am not too sure to be honest with you. Electrocompaniet ECD DAC (or EMC1 UP player) will give you (a lot) deeper bass and a tad more open sound but will sound bright if partner wrongly. Wadia 861 should give you more of everything (well it should at that price
emotion-7.gif