USB Audio Cable Length and CD player question.

PeterMac

Jan 3, 2016
Visit site
I have a CA Azur 651a in one corner of my lounge/dining area. In the hall, I have a desk with my iMac. It's not possible to move them any closer to each other. I would love to be able to connect the iMac to my 651a using a decent USB Audio cable, but have been told that longer cables pose quality problems. Is this true? The Mac and amp are about 5 metres of cable apart (unfortunately including two doorways).

I am yet to purchase a CD player as the amp was originally bought to power my turntable. I have a sizeable CD collection, which is all backed up onto the iMac and also shared on my phone and iPad. I currently connect these to the amp using a phono to RCA cable.

Would something like the Marantz CD6005 give noticeably better sound using it's front USB input over the photo to RCA cable. Otherwise, i'd just go ahead and get the CA Azur 651c CD player.

Any help is much appreciated... i'm new at this and have a lot to learn!

daveh75

USB has a limitation of 5M.

You can buy 'active' USB cables that have a repeater (effectively a 2 port hub) in them that will go longer, Corning also make optical USB cables in various lengths upto 50m, but they're quite expensive

Don't buy 'Audio' USB cables, those are manufactured and sold buy charlatans...

Personally in your situation I'd just buy an Airport Express. More convenient and neater than trailing cables across/around doorways

iMark

daveh75 said:
Personally in your situation I'd just buy an Airport Express. More convenient and neater than trailing cables across/around doorways

I agree that the Airport Express is a neat solution. But this could be a viable altnernative:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Konig-USB-Range-Extender-Cat5/dp/B0037XJYSG/ref=pd_sim_147_6?ie=UTF8&dpID=41sIfbAjR-L&dpSrc="sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR160%2C160_&refRID=16MEXQNR7YTAPXC4A0XJ"

You link both USB adapters with a regular ethernet cable. This apparently works up to 50m.