System upgrade - Hi-Fi novice needs advice

FuzzyinLondon

Dec 5, 2007
Visit site
Hi Guys Just after a quick bit of advice. My current set-up is listed below. I'm considering making a few modification to it in order to enhance my enjoyment of my music collection specifically. I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to the music side of things but I do know that, from reading various posts on these forums, the Onkyo 605 isn't the greatest with music. However, it's the first real system I've ever owned and has been a massive step up from everything that I've had previously. Now I'm looking to improve things slightly with a couple of possible additions: 1) I'm looking to possibly upgrade my front speakers, which are currently the Q Acoustics 1010s. These have been excellent thus but I do feel that I can get better stereo performance if I step up to the 1020 (£80 at Superfi) or the 1030s (£130), both of which would give me the ability to bi-amp. I like the aesthetic of my current set-up and am looking to stay with Q Acoustics in Beech. 2) I'm looking to get a dedicated CD player - possibly a Cambridge audio Azur 540C or a Marantz CD6002. I've got a local Richer Sounds so I will go and give them a listen and I'm keeping a look out for second hand bargains on eBay. Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated. I guess a lot of people will think: why doesn't he build himself a decent separates system for music? I'm limited mainly by lack of space and, to a certain extent, my budget. I've got my living room furniture set-up pretty much the way I want it and it's not a huge space so there's no really any room for moving things around. I'm also not looking to spend any more than £300. So a couple of questions: Is the speaker upgrade worth it and is it worth spending the extra £50 for the floorstanders? It's not a big room (13ftx10ft) and I'm worried the floorstanders might be overkill. Also, I'm pretty sure that a dedicated CD player will help me get more out of my system but ar