System matching

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Last weekend I visited my local hifi stores. 2 options left to be my speakers, Dali Ikon (6s as mains) or Monitor Audio RX (6s as mains again =)). What will be the ideal receiver together with these speakers?

Am I right that monitor audio and yamaha is a good mix and dalis are better with pioneer?

What about the models... all I want is to get the best out of speakers, but still not too much "unused" potential left from receiver's point of point of view. Suggestions?

A

Anonymous

I would like to hear some of your thoughts on this as well, im in the same boat looking for a decent reciever to partner the MA RX6's. im considering the yamaha RX-V2065 denon 2310 or maybe the marantz 6004.

A

Anonymous

Hi guys,I am no expert and in fact over the last few weeks have been trying match my speakers and amp.

I've heard the RX-V1065 with the Monitors RX6 and was thoroughly impressed. It depends on the music you like, and I demo'd it with songs like Eagles Hotel California Live, Paul Simon's Graceland and Jennifer Warne's the Hunter. And boy, it was good. In terms of movies, Transformers Two - the sound was lively.

Stig, my options were exactly yours... 2310 vs 6004 vs 2065 with a pair of B&W CM7. In the end I settled with the Yamaha. And I'm not disappointed. The Denon with the Monitors also sound great, but in terms of value (i.e South African prices) and features I stuck with the Yamaha RX-V2065. Just make sure you are happy with the all the features or lack that one may have over the other.

I've also heard that Yamaha and Monitors are a good match. And I agree. Of course it depends on what sounds good to you.

A

Anonymous

I tested RX6's with Yamaha's 3900 ('cause currently a bargain) and was really impressed. More than RX6's with Marantz 6004 and Onkyo's 707 (807 was not available to be heard). But I would like to test Pioneer (52/72/82) before making a decision.