Starter for £400 ish

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi.

Complete novice looking for some advice on an amp and floorstander combination for new flat. It will be used for both music and home cinema.

Flatmate and I are both ignorant to world of hifi, but have spent a few hours on the site and now have two ideas within budget and have started arguing:

1) Cambridge Audio Azur 340a SE + Wharfedale Diamond 10.3

vs

2) Marantz PM6003 + Tannoy Mercury F3 Custom

Any thoughts would be much appreciated...

A

Anonymous

For your budget, if you're looking for floorstanders, I'd give serious consideration to buying used. You'd get say an Arcam A65+ for around 60 quid, great wee amp. You could probably get some Monitor Audio RS6 for around £350.00 or better (outgoing model, might be some unused ones around). You could then get a power amp to buff things up a bit down the line. The A75 is a little more expensive, but tends to get a bad write-up compared to the A65+.

It's just a suggestion, but you really would be a big step up in quality.

Cheers,

Shuggie

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
Denon D-M38DAB for £330 but at most dealers you can buy different speaker packages than the supplied Denon ones.

£399 here (for example) gets you the D-M38DAB system with Monitor Audio BX2 speakers! (No shortage of bass despite being standmounts.)

You can plug an iPod straight into the Denon with the standard iPod lead and it will bypass the iPod's built in DAC and use the one built into the system instead. (It will charge too.)

Better and neater than a seperate dock.

CoachR:

Hi.

Complete novice looking for some advice on an amp and floorstander combination for new flat. It will be used for both music and home cinema.

Flatmate and I are both ignorant to world of hifi, but have spent a few hours on the site and now have two ideas within budget and have started arguing:

1) Cambridge Audio Azur 340a SE + Wharfedale Diamond 10.3

vs

2) Marantz PM6003 + Tannoy Mercury F3 Custom