Speakers for Cambridge Azur 540A

oyster

Sep 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi - Have recently been given a Cambridge Azur 540A amplifier and being a complete beginner to setting up any sort of Hi-Fi system I was wondering if anybody could give me any tips on pairing it with some speakers.

I've seen some good looking Monitor B4 speakers nearby to me on eBay and I was wondering if a) they were safe to pair and b) if so, whether they go nicely together?

Ideally looking to attach a pair of floor standing speakers to the amp, and then possibly another couple of bookshelf speakers for another room.

Any help on the subject would be hugely appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Those particular speakers appear to have been sold now (would they have worked anyway?) so on the look out for other things. Ideally looking for second hand speakers, as good as possible on quite a tight budget. Thanks!

I might not be able to answer your question precisely as in my view your amp will happily drive any speaker in the price range that you may looking at. The trick is to get a speaker to match your room and not your amp.

Sorry if answer appears oblique, and welcome to the forum.

Leeps

Dec 10, 2012
Visit site
I used to own the Cambridge 640A amp. I would say that the answer depends on..
a) what kind of sound balance you're looking for (fast & detailed or warmer and fuller sound)
b) what your source is.

Each component; source, amp & speakers will each have their own influence on the type of sound you actually hear. I would say the Cambridge 640a was on the 'fast & detailed' end of the sound balance spectrum. So was my CD (as per sig) and so were my old speakers, so each combined to emphasise these qualities still further. The combo sounded great for certain kinds of music but was not flattering of bad recordings or anything with sharp sounds (some brass and electric guitar for example).