Speakers for a Yamaha A-S1000/Yamaha CD-S1000 system

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all,

I am quite new to all this but I am planning to buy a this Yamaha combination. My only doubt is which speakers to combine it with. If I understood correcty, one should spend as much on the speakers as on the amplifier. I was wondering if it is possible to have bookshelf or small floorstanding speakers (max height:65 cm). I have been looking at Monitor Audio GS 10, B&W CM5 but also the Klipsch Heresy iii.

Can anyone tell me what I should definitely listen to? I like rock/pop/electro/jazz.

Thanks for the help.

G.

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
You could take a look at the excellent new ProAc Studio 115's, which are a big improvement over the old 15's with a more vivid presentation but still, retain that 'sweetness' that ProAc are well known for. Also, the KEF Q300's would be worth a try, which is a fantastic sounding speaker for less than £500. you could also look at the PMC DB1i's and ATC SCM11's - try and get a demo of some and see which ones tickle your fancy.

audioaffair

Feb 21, 2009
Visit site
FrankHarveyHiFi:You could take a look at the excellent new ProAc Studio 115's, which are a big improvement over the old 15's with a more vivid presentation but still, retain that 'sweetness' that ProAc are well known for. Also, the KEF Q300's would be worth a try, which is a fantastic sounding speaker for less than £500. you could also look at the PMC DB1i's and ATC SCM11's - try and get a demo of some and see which ones tickle your fancy.

All of which you happen to sell David?

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
Of course - how can I recommend something I've never heard?

All I've done is made some recommendations based on the OP's info - standmounts between £500 and £1,000 that I think would work.

audioaffair

Feb 21, 2009
Visit site