Speaker not handling bass

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Would appreciate some advice,

I have just purchased some Monitor Audio Bx2 speakers, they supposedly have 100 Watt rating however when I use my 60 watt amp to power them the songs with a lot of bass seem to make the speakers flap even at a third of the volume. Is this usual ? How can a 60 watt amp be too much for 100 watt speakers ? I am using spotify on my laptop to a separate DAC and through the amp if that makes any difference. All bass settings are default.

I'm a bit new to hi fi stuff so any help/advice would be much appreciated

WinterRacer

Jan 14, 2009
Visit site
I would suggest it's because your amplifier is clipping and losing control of the speakers. What amp do you have and does it have a pre-out? If so, you could see if you can demo a matching power amp to see if that improves control?

Most people agree it's easier to overdrive speakers with a lower powered amp, my view is you can't have too much power!

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
Most amplifiers will be pushing out their maximum volume at the 12 o'clock position - after that, it'll definitely be adding distortion. Different music use different levels of bass - albums from the likes of Massive Attack are going to get your cones moving far more than say folk music or a string quartet. It's not that the amplifier is too much for the speakers, it's just that differing levels of bass may dictate the maximum volume you'll be able to push the speakers. Adding bass via the tone controls will help you reach that threshold more quickly.

A

Anonymous

i wouldn't have thought that any 60 watt amp would be losing control of a pair of easy to drive bx2's?

WinterRacer

Jan 14, 2009
Visit site
You'd be surprised at how much power you need if you don't want your amp to clip with transients. It's something I'd like to see some kind of big question on.