Speaker cable: do they have to be same length?

phydeau

Jun 8, 2013
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm very new to all of this, but have greatly appreciated the accumulated wisdom in this forum. I don't have any system in my sig, as I'm playing about with different combinations (ex demo or 2nd hand), the idea is to sell on items that don't work for me. Currently I have a NAD C515BEE, atlas interconnects, Pioneer N50 and Rega RS1's, which all sounds very agreeable.

I've also been experimenting with the layout of my living room, and the best layout is to have the Hi Fi just to the side of my listening chair, as there is no room to have it between the speakers (very awkward room). This means the cable run to one speaker is some 3m longer than the other, keeping it out of teh way. Is it important to have both speaker cables the same length, or will it work with with unequal lengths?

Thanks

DocG

May 1, 2012
Visit site
RobinKidderminster said:
3m fine. 15m maybe some small concern. IMO

+1. As a student, my speakers had a cable of 1 and 7 m respectively. I didn't do any measurements (obviously), but the result never bothered me soundwise.

andyjm

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
phydeau said:
Hi all,

I'm very new to all of this, but have greatly appreciated the accumulated wisdom in this forum. I don't have any system in my sig, as I'm playing about with different combinations (ex demo or 2nd hand), the idea is to sell on items that don't work for me. Currently I have a NAD C515BEE, atlas interconnects, Pioneer N50 and Rega RS1's, which all sounds very agreeable.

I've also been experimenting with the layout of my living room, and the best layout is to have the Hi Fi just to the side of my listening chair, as there is no room to have it between the speakers (very awkward room). This means the cable run to one speaker is some 3m longer than the other, keeping it out of teh way. Is it important to have both speaker cables the same length, or will it work with with unequal lengths?