Sony KDL-46Z4500 vs. Sony KDL-46X4500 for gaming?

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
I believe the Z model has pretty bad lag (response time between the tv receiving a signal and actually displaying it onscreen) so I couldnt recommend that one. Unfortunately I dont know anything about the X model as yet so I cant recommend that either

matthewpiano

Both discontinued models now. Should be pretty cheap if you can still find stock.

I'd expect the dynamic RGB LED back-light on the X4500 to be an advantage for gaming but I have no experience of playing games on either set.

sonycentre

May 30, 2009
Visit site
Hi matthew why are you not working at the sony centre anymore?,i nearly spat my coffee out,and silentone,i would go with the 46x4500 its a stunning tv.And you can pick one up cheap now,we had 4 left and sold 3 at £1149.99 after trade in with a free 5 year warrenty.The z5810 or 5500 is a great tv but has been proven that its not the best for gaming.As we had a good customer of ours test one instore..it seemed to display a slight pink tinge on screen.

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
sonycentre:Hi matthew why are you not working at the sony centre anymore?,i nearly spat my coffee out,and silentone,i would go with the 46x4500 its a stunning tv.And you can pick one up cheap now,we had 4 left and sold 3 at £1149.99 after trade in with a free 5 year warrenty.The z5810 or 5500 is a great tv but has been proven that its not the best for gaming.As we had a good customer of ours test one instore..it seemed to display a slight pink tinge on screen.

Have you got LAG statistics for both tvs?

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
sonycentre:I dont have them to hand alienrik,but i could find out for you when im at work tomorrow,or you could google it for a faster responce.

Id be interested to see what your works have. Measuring actual LAG is difficult at the best of times.