So I bought this Toshiba XD-E500 DVD-player

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
So I bought this Toshiba DVD-player... XD-E500. And this is my story.

I recently upgraded my old CRT television to the sexy beast that is the Sony Bravia 40w4500. This brought my tv experience huge leaps forward. Ofcourse the old JVC-scart-using-dvdplayer had to go as well, in came the Samsung four star unit with the touch-buttons. Which was great.

And than it broke down, after some hassle I got all my money back and started the search for a new player. In a local electronics giant I stumbled upon the Toshiba XD-E500. The salesman told me it had all these new and great processing on board. hehe. Yeah right. I work in marketing, go fool someone else. I don't really care about the newest xd-rendering-e-engine-to-the-max-with-this-and- that-software-and-this-hardware-that-creates-this-great-effect-and-sharpens-the-images-like-this-and-greatly-improves-your-home- theater-enjoyment-owh-and-it-makes-coffee-for-you-as-well technology.

I ended up buying it because it was the only player that looked decently. Designwise that is.

Expecting nothing I plugged in the Oehlbach HDMI cable that costed too much and which I don't believe in either and fired up the new Hulk movie.

Wow moment

*silence*

This does look miles ahead of the samsung. The picture is incredible detailed, clear and sharp. Contrast skyrocketed. I'm still amazed everytime I switch it on.

What does this mean for me? I shall not buy a blu-ray player in the coming year, I'll wait until they're much cheaper and blu-ray movies are much more affordable. This Toshiba gem makes all my dvd movie's into little blu-ray wannabe's. More power to them.

The only downside so far: It has this humm/whizz when on standby, annoying, but it does motivate me to switch off the power of my home cinema equipment so it works for the good ;)

I feel like I'm writing an advertisement here, so to prove it isn't so: