Snaking tracks on new vinyl

• Thread starter Deleted member 108165
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 108165

As a relative vinyl newbie I am in need of some advice. I took delivery yesterday of a brand new album and the side 1 tracks seem to make the tonearm perform a wandering snake-like motion whilst following the groove. Difficult to actually measure when playing the LP but a rough indication using a ruler is approx 1mm sway back and forth spread continuously across the entire side. Stylus seems to track the motion with ease and does not appear to affect playback.

Would you consider this to be a bad pressing or within spec? As a note side 2 plays straight as a die.

Your advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

DougK said:
As a relative vinyl newbie I am in need of some advice. I took delivery yesterday of a brand new album and the side 1 tracks seem to make the tonearm perform a wandering snake-like motion whilst following the groove. Difficult to actually measure when playing the LP but a rough indication using a ruler is approx 1mm sway back and forth spread continuously across the entire side. Stylus seems to track the motion with ease and does not appear to affect playback.

Would you consider this to be a bad pressing or within spec? As a note side 2 plays straight as a die.

Your advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Hum, can't say I've experienced this before but it doesn't sound right. Strange it does not do it on side 2 as well as i would have thought that if it was a bad pressing somehow the result would be mirrored.

Any chance you can get LP replaced as 'defective'?

D

Deleted member 108165

Al ears said:
Hum, can't say I've experienced this before but it doesn't sound right. Strange it does not do it on side 2 as well as i would have thought that if it was a bad pressing somehow the result would be mirrored.

Any chance you can get LP replaced as 'defective'?