second hand amp sub £100-£150 - recommendations please!

niccapotamus

Nov 12, 2014
Visit site
Hi helpful chaps. I'm hoping to pick up some Mordaunt short 914 speakers (see other thread) and would like a reccomendation for a second hand amplifier to pair with them. It is for a budget (will have streamed audio via wifi mainly) setup in our large kitchen diner area

so sub £100 or £150 max second hand amp recommendations please

and thanks so much for your help - as I've no knowledge you guys are really helpful

nick

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site

Given the budget, I would avoid the obvious, popular items sell quickly and cost more.

If you are planning to keep the amp for a while look at what is available in your particular market and research specific models as they become available.

bluedroog

Mar 4, 2010
Visit site
I would second the suggestion for the NAD 3020 and also the Sony ES, vastly underrated amps. I think because Sony are such a mass consumer brand many in HiFi often turn their nose up at it but some of their amps are fantastic.

A quick check of your speakers suggested a sensitivity of 89db which is just about in the sensible range for a Tripath amp such as Amptastic Mini-1 if you don’t need multiple inputs http://www.amptastic.com/ I have the previous version the Mini-T which I bought just to satisfy my curiosity and for the money, with the right speakers they are ridiculously good.

radiorog

Jan 1, 2013
Visit site
Ketan Bharadia said:
Hello, you can't really go wrong with budget Rotels, Denons, Cambridges or Marantzs. It's worth giving NAD's 3020 a go too.

+1

If you can get a rotel ra04 or 05, that would sound great.

Cambridge a5, or 650a

And nads and denons. I'm not sure about marants as I thought they can sound bright and you speakers have metal tweeters which would make them sound even brighter.

MeanandGreen

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site