RX-V2065 or AVR-2310 or 650R or...

Philp47

Jun 16, 2010
Visit site
Once upon a time, in Australia, in 1980, I purchased a pair of AR12's together with other Hi Fi components. As time went by I replaced the other items one by one and added a Boston CRC centre and 2 Energy EXL150 surround back speakers.

In 2002 I got a sub YST SW320 and a NAD C541 CD player. In 2005 I got a Cambridge 540R and in 2008 a pair of ProAc Studio 140's.

The AR12's are less efficient than the ProAcs. The music sound form the NAD/540R/ProAc's is very pleasant but I feel the need to upgrade the 540R receiver for a variety of reasons.

I have been looking around in shops and on the net and have narrowed my search down to the Yamaha RX-V2065, the Denon AVR-2310 and the Cambridge 650R which would fall within my budget.

I am no expert but I do like to have very good quality music with the ability to have good sound for movies or home videos (DVD's). For DVD player I have a $59 **** Smith model bought in 2005. Well it plays anything.

One shop informed me that the Cambridge would be better than the Denon because it was a high current amp. and would give me more power. I read a review of the Cambridge and it was not very good about the sound.

I have had a look at the other threads for ProAcs but would appreciate some expert advice in the area of a suitable receiver, or any other propositon.

Thanks in advance,

Phil.

strapped for cash

Aug 17, 2009
Visit site
Hi Phil and welcome to the forum!

The WHF reviews would suggest that the Denon is the best of your three shortlisted receivers, though none will perform as well with music as a dedicated stereo amplifier.

As always advised on the forum, your best bet is to set up some auditions to see what suits you best.

As performance with music seems as important to you as home cinema, I think you have two options: