Rubbish blu ray discs

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
what with the recent top 50 in the ultimate guide, i thought it might be a good idea to have a thread on here where people could warn against the rubbish ones?? Maybe make it a sticky topic or have a different section for blu ray discs, good or bad. I would hat eto pay out 15 quid + and find out its a rubbish blu ray.

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
I wouldn't go so far as to say "rubbish". But I recently rented out 'Rambo' and neither the sound or vision was up to what I'd class as 'above par' (for a Blu-Ray that is). I'm no expert, but in the short time I've had my player, I've watched about 10/12 films and this was the worst of the lot. I don't know what their excuse is. I'm about half-way through 'Band of Brothers' on Blu-Ray and the picture and sound are much better in all areas, and this is 7 years old.

Explosions were subdued, surround effect was weak, picture was grainy, which I could live with, but it wasn't even particulalry sharp.

Only thing that did impress was Matthew Marsden's sniper rifle. That sounded great, but that's about it.

A

Anonymous

Excellent idea for a thread, I'm considering going Bluray soon but from what I've heard not all transitions are kind. I'd hate to fall in the trap of getting a film expecting to be blown away only to be disappointed.

A

Anonymous

Big Chris:I wouldn't go so far as to say "rubbish". But I recently rented out 'Rambo' and neither the sound or vision was up to what I'd class as 'above par' (for a Blu-Ray that is). I'm no expert, but in the short time I've had my player, I've watched about 10/12 films and this was the worst of the lot. I don't know what their excuse is. I'm about half-way through 'Band of Brothers' on Blu-Ray and the picture and sound are much better in all areas, and this is 7 years old.

Explosions were subdued, surround effect was weak, picture was grainy, which I could live with, but it wasn't even particulalry sharp.