Rotel suggestions

yazooed

May 31, 2015
Visit site
Hi. I'm a Hi-Fi noob so I thought I would come here to get advice from the best.

Years ago I had the most perfect hi-fi system. It was a Rotel RA 970 BX amplifier and a Rotel RCD 950 CD player with 2 NHT SuperOne speakers. Later, I purchased a Rotel pre-amp for a Rega turntable I was given. It was the the perfect sound for me and I have never heard anything that has come close to it for my taste. Unfortunately, I lost it in a break-up about 10 years ago and have missed it dearly. It's taken a while but I am currently working on replacing it.

It has taken me about a year, but I finally managed to get a pair of good condition secondhand original NHT SuperOne speakers and now I would like to purchase the replacement Rotel componants. I was looking at the most recent Rotel amplifiers and CD players and am a bit confused and wondered if anyone had suggestions about what would be similar/comparable items in todays market. The only requirement - apart from not being too expensive - is that they have to be black.

I don't mind buying second hand Rotel. Do you think I should just keep my eye out for the same amp and CD player that I had and purchase as they become available on the market or get the modern equivalent? What are the modern equivalents?

Thank you for your help and suggestions.

yazooed

May 31, 2015
Visit site
Hi rainsoothe - thanks for the reply.

Budget is $600 for the CD player and up to $800 for the integrated Amp (Australian Dollars).

Music style is probably general pop/80s, 90s.

Room size is a living room about 5 m x 4m.

Listening levels - do you mean volume? Then just average levels. I'll listen to it loud with headphones on if required!

Thanks!

yazooed

May 31, 2015
Visit site
I have been researching online the Rotel RA 11 amp and Rotel RCD 11 CD player if that makes any difference.