Replacing my trusty NAD 314 amp - possible on the cheap?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Afternoon all,

Many moons ago I studied What HiFi for a year and then on my 18th birthday my Dad took me to Richer Sounds to spend the money that was burning a hole in my pocket.

I came away with a Technics SL-PS670d CD player, a NAD 314 amp, and Mordaunt Short MS25i floorstanders.

At the time (14 years ago) they were all award winners, with possibly the cd player being the slightly weak link. Anyway, the nad is now crackling away in the right channel and I'm led to believe a repair is probably going to cost more than the amp is worth. Problem is I'm skint (like most people) so can't afford to spend much on a replacement.

Richer have the Cambridge AZUR 340a for 120 notes - I'm very tempted. But I've got two concerns; firstly will the Cambridge get near the performance of my old NAD, and secondly will it be a touch too bright if I'm listening to mostly metal and heavy rock?

Bearing in mind my very limited resources (could possibly stretch to 150) any comments and suggestions will be gladly received.

d_a_n1979

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
IMO eBay will be your best bet
emotion-1.gif

An Arcam Alpha 9 integrated amp sold yesterday for less than £150 so maybe have a look at some of those

Other amps to consider, IMO, would be:

NAD C320BEE
Arcam Alpha 8R
NAD C325BEE (for sale on another well known HI & AV forum
emotion-5.gif

Rotel RA01

T

the record spot

Check around on Gumtree in your local area. Some good stuff turns up there for often surprisingly little and in good nick. Sort the wheat from the chaff though.