Rega RP1 platter rises and falls

Pelley

Mar 19, 2012
Visit site
Hi all, I'm a newbie but have used this site and the wisdom of the forums (thanks all) to inform my choices when I recently ditched my 20yr old Sony system for some proper music playing kit.

Being new to audiophile, and with a limited amount of cash, I follwed the five star budget trail and got myself a Marantz CD6004 player and PM6004 amp, Monitor Audio BX2 speakers and a Rega RP1 (Performance Upgrade) TT. All very lovely and (obviously) a vast sonic improvement on the old Sony all-in-one.

Just have a question re the Rega. There's a very, very slight but noticeable rise and fall as the platter revolves which, when a record is on, means that the tone arm also rises and falls a fraction (by a millimetre maybe less.) Should i be worried about this or is it normal for a budget TT?

Also, I fell asleep listening to a record a few weeks after buying my new kit and so, as there's no automatic return function, the stylus ran in the run out groove for about six hours! Was very annoyed with myself when I woke up and have wondered ever since what toll may have been taken on the belt, motor and stylus. Any thoughts?

Thanks

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
6 hours in a run-out groove is not a problem. A decent diamond stylus is good for 1500 hours with careful use and clean records.

It will not damage your belt or motor or bearing either.

Chebby is correct about the run-out groove.
Regards your rise and fall though I would get this checked out as this is not normal in my opinion. Having had Rega's in the past I have never seen this on any of my turntables. A slight warp in a LP is sometimes possible but if it is noticeable without an LP on the turntable then that is another matter.

Pelley

Mar 19, 2012
Visit site