Recomendations for a Newbie

dave_k

Aug 26, 2009
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm new to the world of home cinema and HiFi, but i've got a full HD Plasma TV crying out for some HD feed rather than just Freeview SD and a non-upscaling DVD player connected by scart.

I haven't space for a full surround system, or the budget, so I'd like you opinions on setting up a stereo speaker arrangement.

Should i get a blu ray player and a stereo amp, or can i get a player that i can connect directly to a pair of speakers? I'll also be using it for music CD playback.

I hope this isn't to vague, i'll appreciate any caomments...

Thanks, Dave

Big Aura

Oct 13, 2008
Visit site
do you want this for "better tv sound" only or will it be 50-50 for a music system as well? If mainly movies and a bit of music, you could investigate soundbars or the new Sony Bluray 2.1 systems. But the more emphasis on music will mean a switch towards a stereo amp and speakers...

What's your budget?

dave_k

Aug 26, 2009
Visit site
Yeah it'll be 50-50 probably,and i like the idea of getting separates as they can be upgraded or added to as funds and space allow.

I've around £500 to spend and would probably get the player first then amp/ speakers next. Any thoughts on what would make a good combination? I like the look and reviews of Pioneers bdp 51fd...

Thanks again
emotion-1.gif

A

Anonymous

Personally before you start looking for better audio is to invest in a blu-ray player or if you are still unsure of the blu ray then get a DVD player that has a hdmi lead. Even without any upscaling you will notice the difference, deeper colours and crisper edges. You can get the Sony BDP350 for around £150 now or a decent dvd player for £70.