Ready to take the leap and get some floorstanding speakers although what to look for when demoing?

nugget2014

Jan 1, 2014
Visit site
i've been looking on whathifi a while now about speakers and advice for what i should get thats bought me here today with my pretty decent home cinema system. although now i seek more for movies from my zensor 3s and looking to get floorstanders

i have a number of speakers shortlisted price, look and specs wise from richersounds and superfi but do not know what to listen for during demos

when it comes to listening to music for me i'm certainly no audiophile i am a noob in sense and i just think "the bass is good, the vocals are clear" thats about it. what specific things should i be listening for that i would use to decide if the speakers would be for me? although when i listen to music i want to enjoy it not take the time to pick out pros and cons of the track or speaker as i guess audiophiles would.. i just want to notice good quality sound

so that brings a few questions to the table such as:

what does -3db and -6db mean? for example i seen someone say the speakers are tuned to 50hz (example) but at -6db the response might go down to 42hz or something along the lines. is this to do with volume on the amp, bass eq on the amp or room gain? and how does room gain work?

secondly, what is "transparent midrange" sounds technical. but i like to know what to look out for when demoing soon for my speakers

someone commented on a post saying you should close your eyes and if the music sounds its being performed live in front of you the speakers are for you, well for me that wont be easy as ive been to about 10 concerts now and i each time i enjoy it like nothing can compare and i have never had an experience like that at home with music on cd or any format (maybe its just my cheap zensor 3s)