Raspberry PI + USB DAC + Mpd + MPad = Great Success

IanG

Jan 27, 2013
Visit site
4bafbf743a0e11e1abb01231381b65e3_7.jpg

In the main lounge we already have a Nice Yamaha AV Amp, KEF Satelites, and MJ Acoustics sub wired to an Apple Mac Mini running both Plex Media Server and the OSX Plex Client - its a really slick setup using my iPhone or iPad along with a nice Harmony panel remote control it all. Its a good setup for every day. Plex is really slick - I'm a software engineer so it was cool to be able to contribute both the Flickr and Picasa/Google+ Albums plugins to the proejct.

7ec86696619411e2abce22000a1f96d4_7.jpg

In the smaller room I built up a bargin 2.1 channel setup from a small budget on used items from eBay (I had a cambridge amp from a few years ago so completed the set) - including a Cambridge Audio DAC that I was using to take the optical input from an Xbox 360 - the dual DACs also improved the sound of my v1 640C quite a bit.

3c1426a872b711e2a5bc22000a9e2899_7.jpg

The original speakers I had were a bit lacking so I replaced them with a pair of new B&W 685 speakers...

3e319cd8762511e2bcaf22000a1fbcb3_7.jpg

and some mint condition B&W FS700 stands off eBay. Very happy with how it all performs for 2 Channel music - but - I was still lacking a means of streaming all my digital music into the 2 channel system. Plugging my Macbook into the USB port on the DAC and using Plex or ITunes was fine but I was looking for a more permanent solution attached to the stereo.