Purchasing advice

Floppy

Nov 7, 2015
Visit site
Hi everybody,

It would be great if you guys could help me see the light. I'm a beginner and really unsure what kind of system would make sense for me.

Current situation:
I'm currently running some old gear my dad gave me (Denon PMA 925R + Mission Freedom 5 speakers) but would like to put together a better system.

What do I want?
I am looking for precise sound and sound staging at quiet to normal listening volumes in a 4m x 7m room. Moreover, I would like to wirelessly play my digital FLAC files and Spotify from Macbook and Iphone. I mostly listen to jazz, classical, and folk but sometimes I throw some pop or electronic music in.

What do I have in mind so far?
I don't mind used items at all and thought about buying my gear on Ebay Germany. One possible setup would be B&W N805 or Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand speakers and a Marantz PM6005 amp.

What do I want to know from you?
What's good value in the German used market for someone with my requirements?
Would the aforementioned combo make sense? Why / Why not?

The amount of contrasting information is quite confusing and I'd appreciate any kind of comments, general or with regard to my specific situation.

Thanks in advance!

Floppy

lindsayt

Apr 8, 2011
Visit site
German ebay is a great place to buy hi-fi equipment. I've used it myself, despite living in the UK.

For decent solid state amplifiers I'd be tempted by classic German / Swiss brands like Uher and Revox. As well as classic models from the upper end of Japanese brands.

The point of buying 2nd hand off ebay is to find something that's selling well below the going rate. And then you play a game of Darwinian survival of the fittest when you get it in your home.

Speakers are a highly personal choice, as it's not just the sound and price, it's the size and looks where tastes can vary so much.

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site