PS3 and Homeplugs

davejberry

Mar 29, 2009
Visit site
i will admit i'm no expert but have successfully used various methods of home networking in the past and am profiicent enough to have built my own pc and recently upgraded it to w7. my pc is too far from my router to use wifi to stream to my new ps3 (xmas prezzie) so i bought some d-link homeplug adaptors (85mbps)

they don't work with the ps3. the ps3 is connected directly to my router, my pc is connected via the homplugs. my son also has a pc, connected directly, i also have a blu ray player and a WDTVLive connected directly. in this configuration, all can see and use the internet and i can transfer files between the two pc and the big HDD hanging off the back of the WDTV. no matter what i try, the ps3 cannot see or be seen from my pc although it can see my son's. i have tried 6 different cables, three dfiferent software media servers (tversity, twonky and asset as well as wmp12), removed all network security, different sockets in my home, all to no avail.

please, if anyone has any ideas, i'd love to hear them. i cannot seem to find anyone else with this problem

A

Anonymous

U can check the PS3 network connection, easily by just going

Settings -> Network Settings -> Internet Connection Test

Does this work?

A PC can't see a PS3 - the system is locked down - Sony does this to ensure the system cant be hacked.

The PS3 can only see a Upnp mediaserver on a PC - not the pc itself.

Have u enabled network access for the PS3 on your pc? By default windows blocks access to devices.

Control Panel -> Network & Internet -> Network & Sharing Center -> Change adavanced sharing settings -> 'Choose Media Streaming Options' -> Select Devices on All Networks -> Allow All

davejberry

Mar 29, 2009
Visit site