Project genie mk1 or mk2?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello

I'm very new to the game and have just bought what I thought was a mark 2 genie from richer sounds. However unpacking it there is no mention anywhere about it being a mark 2, it just says RPM1 no mark 1 or mark 2 stated.

Can anyone confirm which one mine is? It has a cord switch similar to the switch on a table lamp (I have seen pictures of a mark 3 which has the switch mounted on the motor). Also the end of the tonearm just above the cartridge has three holes drilled in it in a line (and in pictures of the mark 3 it is just flat - no holes).

I have scoured the internet for pictures but as you can probably gather from my post all the pictures are of the mark 3! If anyone can help me out it would be much appreciated.

A

Anonymous

Sorry, but I beg teh differ. Early Models of teh Mk1 had teh switch in the cable. I have teh motor of a Mk2 (RPM1.2), which has the switch in the base, and I have a mk3 (RPM1.3) which has a pod as motor base. and also the switch on teh motor.

You have a Mk1. I would go back

Richer sounds has screwed me over before as well, and that was whiel TRYINg to buy something from them (which I ended up not doing). So I suggest you go back.

Mind you, you wont be able to get a new Mk2 anymore. I tried and they only ahve a handful of incomplete models spread over the UK...

I recommend buying at sevenoaks. I bought speakers at their Cardiff shop a whiel back, and tehy were great. No kiss ass-look-me-pretend-knowing-it-better. But just set teh stuf up and let you evaluate! Teh one in bristol is also great. They stick to theri story, even if you ask for more expensive components, they still stick to what they recomemnded. Their borrow policy is also very good. Maybe a bit more expensive but well worth teh servioce I think!!

A

Anonymous

Thanks for your reply