PM6005 or PM8005 with Mission model 70 mkII

johnnymaelstrom

Jan 4, 2015
Visit site
I'm a complete novice trying to learn about hifi and buying the best I can afford bit by bit. I'm just setting up a new system and am trying to decide on one of two amps. The Marantz PM6005 and PM8005.

I've got both at home and I'm trying them out. The PM8005 sounds much better to me with one exception, the bass seems to boom and is a bit muddled in the low end. Particularly bass on jazz or bass sounds/beats on electronic music. I'd like to see if it's my speakers not responding well or if it's my personal preference for bass sounds. Conversely although the PM6005 sounds clear, it lacks bass.

I'm using Marantz CD6005 and some old Mission model 70 mkII speakers. It expect the speakers are the weak link. I hope to keep the speakers until I can afford a turntable and speakers later in the year, but could keep the PM6005 and spend the difference on new speakers (Zensor 3s?).

jonathanRD

Jan 27, 2011
Visit site
Hi johnny - welcome to the forum. It all depends on how much budget you have both now and in the near future, and how much patience you have to wait. The PM6005 will match your CD6005 and adding speakers such as the Zensor 3's (or others around that price range) and a turntable will give you a nice system that I'm sure you will enjoy for many years. But if you have the amps at home, can you get some new speakers home to confirm your speakers are the problem. Also this will give you more opportunity to compare the two amps. You may decide that the 6005 is enough for you or you may decide that you've got to have the 8005 - just take your time and demo as much as possible. If you get the 8005 it is likely that you will start looking at upping your budget for better speakers to match it - and then other price/performance matched components too.

Covenanter

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site