Please help me!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Many years ago (about 20!) I was a subscriber to What Hi-Fi. As a student my budget was limited so I bought the best I could at the time... and then the family took over!

Therefore I still have a decent looking but old separates system comprising:

CD Player - Technics SL-P277A

Cassetter Player (I know!) - Technics RS-B465

Tuner - Denon TU-260L

Amplifier - Rotel RA-82OAX

I have just replaced the speakers - Wharfedale Diamond IVs - partly because the kids when younger had poked the tweeters and partly because I thought - wrongly - that one of them had 'blown'. I've just bought the Q Acoustics 2010s from Peter Tyson for a very reasonable £99.

Of course I have now realised that it is in fact the amplifier that seems to be faulty - there is hardly any sound coming from the left side and what you can hear is low level "fuzz". I had a look inside the amp but there is nothing obvious. I guess being 20 years old it's not particularly surprising. The question is, what should I do:

1) Buy a new amp as a straight forward replacement. If so what on a limited budget? I might just about be able to stretch to the Best Buy Marantz PM6003 at £250.

2) I have a newish Panasonic TH-42PZ85B TV and Sky HD - but have never had cinema audio (and would not really know where to start!). Could I buy a "cinema" amp to play both the hi-fi separates AND the TV - and if so how and what do I buy?! I guess I could use the new and old speakers for some sort of surround sound? What else would I need and how much would it cost?

As you can guess I was once a Hi-Fi fan but 20 years is a long time... can anyone help me please?

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
With an amp that old, good though it was, it's probably not worth having it repaired. I'm assuming the problem is there whether you play CD, tuner or tap - ie we're sure it's the amp and not one of the source components.