Onkyo TX-NR609 and front floor standing speakers

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all,

I have little experience in Hi Fi stuff.

I recently bought a Onkyo TX-NR609 at a special deal. I am looking for a 5.1 speaker package for it, but I will actually use them most of the time for classical Orchestral music, so the front floor standing speakers are important to me. Sometimes I like the music from 5.1 speakers too, I have a normal sized living room.

I can never get a conclusion of what speakers I should go, its been months. I visited a few local shops, each of them sell different lines of speakers, they sell nearly more than double the prices over the UK and US, I have found some UK and US websites sell speakers, most of them smaller boxes but some sell larger front speakers to Australia, however there is not enough variaty to choose from, for example I am still not seeing a website sells Tannoy Revolution DC6 TSE to Australia. It is a small global village this world, online shopping is there growing strongly, dealership protectionism will not work - that is how I believe but I am not here trying raise issues, just like to hear tips. At the moment I am continuing to explore what I should buy and where I can buy.

I have encountered these fronts:

Paradigm Studio 100 - too expensive for me. My budget for the front pair is US$1000 - 1500.

Kev Q500, Q700, Q900 - dont' know which pair suits the Onkyo 609 yet, in terms of output power etc.

Tannoy Revolution DC6 T (SE) - I like the look of it, never seen Tannoy production lines locally.

Tannoy Mercury V4 - Not sure it this is good enough or it will be similar to DC6 T(SE).

Monitor Audio RX6, RX8 - the local dealer sells the RX8 'at special' but still US$500 more than US.

Klipsch RF-82 ii, 62 ii, 52 ii, 42 ii - I like their golden colour cones but don't like black boxes local dealer sells, cherry finishes better. again, I still need to find out which one has a output power to suit.