Onkyo 609 - Sony Bravia TV question

sdfbailey

Aug 5, 2011
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

Forgive me, I'm a bit of a novice at this sort of thing.

I have the following:

- Onkyo 609 AV amp.

- Sony Bravia 40" KDL-40NX713 Display.

I watch TV (my BT Vision box is connected to the amp) via the amp, which pumps sound beautifully to my Monitor Audio speakers.

The TV has some apps which will only work using "TV" mode, instead of via the HDMI connection. In particular, I want to use the Berlin Philharmonic app, and send the sound through my speakers.

Richer Sounds sold me an optical cable, telling me this should do it. I have connected to the amp and the "digital audio out" connection on the TV, told the TV to output sound to the speakers, but nothing happens.

Does anyone know how I can watch in "TV" mode, and push sound through my speakers? I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, but I can't work out what!

Any assistance gratefully received! Thanks in advance.

:help:

SB

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
Do you need to assign the optical input on the Onkyo, or does the input you've used say "TV"? (and of course you've selected "TV" as your source)

Also, you say you've told your TV to output sound to the speakers, but is it referring to the TV's own speakers? My TV is a lot older than yours, but in the set-up menu I had to turn the 'TV Speakers' setting to 'Off'.... And I had to ramp up the volume to max to match my other sources (BT Vision, Blu-Ray, games consoles, etc).

sdfbailey

Aug 5, 2011
Visit site
Thanks guys. I've interpreted the "Output to speakers" to really mean, "output to AMP" - but perhaps I have made a mistake there.

How do I choose the input to be the digital audio cable? (That sounds like a dumb question, but I can't see an option on the remote?). Is this an option somewhere?

I'll have a play tonight and let you know how I get on.

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
Right.