Olive 04HD + Onkyo 5008 + what speakers?

tochtgenoot

Jan 3, 2011
Visit site
Hello everyone,

being an (almost) complete newbie to the more refined world of hi-fi and high-end home cinema, I would really appreciate your opinions regarding a new 5.1 speakerset for my new home surround-set up. As so often, I'm looking for a great sounding music-movie combination.

Practically my whole previous system has broken down the last couple of months: first the cd/dvd player (budget Philips), last week my surround amp (Sony QS Series STR-DB1070), and tonight my very old turntable (an antique Dual that I had hooked up to an old stereo amp)...

So, I have to admit a bit frustrated, I turn to you regarding my new system, for which I decided to upgrade (I had been saving a couple of years already for some new equipment, thank god for that).

To satisfy my cd playing needs, I already own an Olive 04HD - a great machine that I bought when my budget cd player broke down - a incredible step up that made me realize what the difference was between a 320kb mp3 and the actual cd.

As far as amps go, I prefer the Onkyo 5008 based on what I have read and heard up to now. Budget-wise a bit tight, but should be feasible.

The only thing from my previous equipment that still works, are my speakers: the Sony pascal sa-ve835ed surround set.

Do you think these speakers are a match for the Olive + Onkyo (speakers are about 10 years old but sounded very nice through my Sony amp)? Or will other (better/more expensive/bigger/louder?) speakers greatly improve the sound coming out of the Onkyo?

Thanks in advance for your opinions !

TheHomeCinemaCentre

Oct 1, 2008
Visit site
Hello and welcome to the forum. Good as the Sony speakers are they are not quite a fair match with the Onkyo. Were you thinking of upgrading teh speakers soon?