Newbie with some DVD player/processor questions

trent900

Aug 12, 2013
Visit site
Hi guys

Newbie here wondering if anyone can provide some advice/recommendations. I’m still learning the new terminologies so go easy on me!

The system I have is 13 years old and although I’ve been very happy with it, due to a move and now the use of an LG 55” LED TV I find the set-up is no longer compatible. So, what to do?

Here’s my system spec:

Naim Nait5 amp powering a pair of KEF Q55.2
Marantz DV4100 DVD player
Yamaha DSP-E800 powering a B&W LCR600 S3 centre and KEF Q85’s for the rear

Of course with the DSP-E800 I was using S-video which is not supported by the LG. So I guess now is the time to upgrade to bluray and a new AV processor but which items will work with the others.

I was thinking of replacing the Marantz with a Sony BDP-S790 and the DSP-E800 with an RX-V673…what do you think? I’m wondering if the RX-V673 has RCA out to control the Nait5 via its AV input connection? I’d like to keep it as I use it with a CD5 for audio.

What would you do? Would the Sony and RX-V673 be good replacements?

Any help or advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Martin

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
trent900 said:
I’m wondering if the RX-V673 has RCA out to control the Nait5 via its AV input connection?

Not according to the images I've found on the net, no, you require a full set of 7.1 (or 5.1 at a push) pre-outs in order to run your front L&R channels to a stereo amp. You'd typically need to go up the AV amp range (and budget, naturally) to get an AV amp with those pre-outs.

I notice your centre speaker is a different make to your Fronts. It would be advisable to try to get the matching KEF Centre speaker to go with the Q55.2s if possible.

trent900

Aug 12, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for the quick reply and info.

Any particular amp you would recommend? Pioneer LX56 perhaps?